I think we’re just gonna to have to be secretly in love with each other and leave it at that, Ritchie.

-Margot, The Royal Tenenbaums

I haven’t exactly been enthralled by the press coverage of the up-coming royal wedding.  I actually have no interest at all in the strange political and social around the British royals.  I think that the feudal system has been dead for a while and I don’t understand keeping a powerless monarchy around just for fun.

BUT…one of my earliest memories was my mom waking me up in the middle of the night to watch Diana and Charles get married.  I was young, four and a half or five, but I remember the dress and all the ladies in the church wearing fantastic hats.   Curled up in a blanket early in a Denver morning I watched a future king marry.  It was dreamy and romantic and the couple looked awkward and shy.

I don’t work on Fridays so tonight I’ll probably wake my mom up at 3 am and we’ll watch the wedding.  We’ll be drinking coffee instead of hot coco this time, in Conway, Arkansas rather than outside of Denver, thirty years older, but able to share another royal wedding.  Then, rather than partying like the residents of London we will crawl back into bed and sleep.

