I have changed my hours at work from the normal Monday through Friday eight hour shifts to M-Th ten hour days.  I leave my house about six in the morning and get back home at 6:45 ish at night.  Long day, right?

My super-great husband is worried that I will be too tired by the end of the week with the longer shifts.  I could be.  It’s certainly a consideration because stress and fatigue are major factors in my Parkinson’s disease.  Too much stress or too much fatigue and my symptoms revolt, my leg stops working, my speech starts to slur and stutter, and I become mostly useless to everyone.

My bosses here where I work, a university hospital, are great to me.  They know that I may not be able to sustain the 4-10’s.  We are on a trial basis for now.  If it gets to be to stressful or to tiring I will go back to working five days a week.

I do like the idea of having Friday’s off.  I like the idea of saving money on gas each month.  So if the evenings get a little long I’m going to console myself with those thoughts for a while.